top of page

TROLL MAKEUP BREAKDOWN

The truth is I have never been the biggest fan of halloween, but it sure is a fun time to get creative. My main style of makeup is fashion + beauty so this was definitely a push outside of my comfort zone. It is so funny because you start and you kind of don't have a clue where it is going but you keep plugging away hoping it turns out. I even had a slight bit of anxiety wondering if I should just start over. I'm used to doing makeup that accentuates beautiful features so this type of breakdown makeup was basically the complete opposite. I had a great time and thought I could share a bit about how I was inspired etc.

A couple years ago I made myself up as Kat Von D and also cleopatra, all very pretty looks. I wanted to do something different so I posted on my facebook page asking what people would like to see. A facebook follower of mine named Jana recommended "troll" amongst many like Ice Queen, Malificient etc. Troll spoke to me because it wasn't pretty at all, there aren't any mainstream characters that I could think of that were trolls so to me it was perfect! Something I could completely think up in my own mind without any outside influence.

When I googled "troll" alot of images came up, this is the one that spoke to me. I thought I could totally make myself into this. That was the first step, I had a vision!

I started to analyze the photo + tried to look right deep down into what the skin tone was like etc. The next photo I used as inspiration was of an old man with wrinkles. It was exactly what I needed to make it look believable.

About 4 hours later, my fiance walked in the door to find me looking like a crazy person! haha the look on his face was priceless. Here is the final look. It only took about 90 photos to find the perfect one. I had to ditch the "model" pose and stick with something a little bit scarier.

Thank you for reading + I hope you enjoyed! x Cait

PRODUCTS USED:

L'Oreal Paris Le Teinte Accord Parfait Foundation (from Cannes, France)

Lise Watier Color Correcting Wheel

Make Up For Ever Flash Palette

Tarte Tartelette Palette

Make Up For Ever Aqua Cream Liner in Black

L'Oreal Paris Silkissime Eyeliner in Black


bottom of page