top of page

FACEPAINT BY LISA ELDRIDGE


When Lisa Eldridge announced that she had a book coming out, I was ecstatic!! Here is a list of 5 reasons WHY I absolutely admire Lisa:

1. Lisa has a soft spoken voice that puts her viewers at ease while they simply admire her talent and listen to her deep knowledge about everything from developing products to the history of makeup.

2. The truest form of beauty is natural + Lisa brings out the very best with "a little goes a long way" mentality.

3. Lisa is a true humanitarian and it shines so brightly through as she speaks about makeup + her journey as a makeup artist.

4. Lisa's views on the industry and the history of makeup are mesmerizing

5. She always wears two rings in her videos, a green one + a yellow one side by side. I would love to learn the story behind these.

I have learned many things about different makeup muses throughout time. My two favorites being Meena Kumari and Marie Antoinette. Lisa just launched a wonderful tutorial that demostrates a realisticly modern version of Marie on her model, Bo Jong. Click here to watch.

I found myseld facinated with the idea of vintage makeup. My makeup artist friend, Ginette and I were sifting through our local antique mall when it suddenly dawned on me that they may have vintage beauty products, sure enough, they did! An hour or so later we were on such a high as we admired the old packaging that still housed the original lipstick. I found Revlon, Avon, Midnight in Paris, Elizabeth Arden and a few other brands I didn't recognize. I'm afraid with the feelings that it gave me, I have found a new passion.

Thank you Lisa, for opening me up to such an amazing world that is still right at our finger tips. When I hold one of those golden colored lipstick bullets in my hand its almost as though I am right back in time when ladies were really using them. I wish for a second I could get to know the original owner and ask her a few questions. It is amazing to me. I can't help but think that this may look the same as the lipstick my grandma used to apply around the corner from the convent that she attended when she was a school girl.

This one is my favorite because it has instructions right on the metal bullet.

It reads: "This Hazel Bishop New Formula Lipstick stays on longer -- whether you blot or not. When you let ____ for a few minutes and _____ thoroughly with tissue _____ (until no more ___ lip-prints come off) -- it won't smear off!

Some of the words that are rubbed off, I've inserted blanks. The bright orange lipstick below claims to be "Natural" on the bottom. It must be sheer lol!

​A beautifully inscribed red Elizabeth Arden Lipstick!

Thank you so much for reading + I hope you enjoy xx

Caitlyn


bottom of page