top of page

WHISTLER FILM FESTIVAL | 2015


For the past two weeks I have been enjoying the beautiful sights + attractions of Vancouver and Whistler! I was asked to be the Lead Makeup Artist for L'Oreal Paris at Whistler Film Festival this year, where they are one of the main sponsors. I met actors, film directors, west coast bloggers and many other people in the Canadian film industry. I will share photos from my time in Whistler as well as touring around Vancouver with my fiance.

VANCOUVER

We spent the first week in Vancouver where Jesse was able to meet my friends and family that live there. When I attended Blanche Macdonald Centre in Van, I left my heart there. It is such a beautiful city that captured my soul. Between the tall buildings, ocean breezes and mountain painted backdrops it is hard to ignore the beauty at every single moment.

GRANVILLE ISLAND

Granville Island is so quaint + artistic. If you've never been, make sure you go on your next trip to Vancouver. We toured around the market, little soap shops, paper souvenir shops and had a delicious lunch at The Sand Bar!

DEEP COVE

On our last full day in Vancouver we hit up Deep Cove. It is seriously so gorgeous and tucked away where you wouldn't stumble upon it. I did a portfolio building photoshoot in Deep Cove about 3 years ago. It was beautiful and I've never been able to get it out of my mind! The fog was so incredible winding through the trees. We had lunch at Arm's Reach Bistro, highly recommended. The food was great + the view, even better!

WHISTLER FILM FESTIVAL

L'Oreal invited 4 successful bloggers from Vancouver to join us in Whistler for an all expenses paid weekend. They stayed in an incredible multi-million dollar villa in the mountains where they recieved top of the line catering and were welcomed with L'Oreal gifts. They spent a day at the Scandinave spa, attended festival parties, had manicures and pedicures, and received a makeup class from me! Not such a bad weekend for these four gals. They can be found on instagram @melissamerk + @tovogueorbust + @carajourdan + @theaugustdiaries the hashtag for the house was #beautydestination where you can see their pictures!

SOREL SUITE

I got seriously hooked up with these killer Sorel boots!!! Love!

L'OREAL PARIS PARTY

We attended a few parties while we were there. L'Oreal's party was at the Barefoot Bistro where they have a vodka ice bar that you can go into wearing a complimentary white Canada Goose jacket, which is about ten sizes too big! At the same party I was invited down to an incredible wine cellar where Hugo Thibault from L'Oreal sabered a champagne bottle while we all watched. I can't even count how many wine bottles were in there. The cellar was plastered floor to ceiling with 3 bottles wide of different kinds of wine. The owner had huge Don Perignon, Moet + Chandon champagne bottles and they had a mystery bottle of something that was worth $60,000. SO crazy! Below you will see the photos of the most insane wine cellar I have ever seen!

BAREFOOT BISTRO VODKA ICE ROOM

WHISTLER FILM FESTIVAL WRAP PARTY

The final wrap party was located at the Longhorn in the middle of Whistler Village, just a quick 3 minute walk from our hotel, Westin Whistler. It was packed! I didn't actually get any pictures in the party but I took a couple photos of my outfit :)

Top by Elinmae + jewellery by Fifth Avenue Collection can be purchased here.

Thank you so much for reading! Caitlyn


bottom of page